Manchester’s Historic Seaside No. 1 Firehouse
Constructed in 1885 to house Seaside No. 1, the town’s first horsedrawn fire engine, this handsome building on Central Street later became the headquarters for the Manchester Police Department. The Police vacated Seaside No. 1 in 1970, and the Historical Society stepped forward to preserve the building. It now serves as a museum and home for the town’s two antique engines, the Torrent, a hand pumper built in 1832, and Seaside No. 2, a horsedrawn steam pumper acquired in 1902. The first floor of the building also contains a collection of firefighting equipment and memorabilia about the fire and police departments.
📎 Related Articles
1. Exploring the Rapid Development and Rich History of Kaufman County
2. Discovering the Hidden Stories of Whittington
3. Exploring Texas Through Its Historical Markers
4. Discovering Greene County: Tracing History Through Its Landscapes
5. The Flooded Villages of Derwent, Ashopton and Birchinlee